Phones

How one can delete your WhatsApp account and save your information

I have already explained in detail why I decided to delete my WhatsApp account and the consequences. If you missed this editorial, read it here, then come back to this post.

This is everyone’s decision, ultimately, and that is the only thing I advocate – make the decision that is best for you – if you do decide to pull the trigger we have the best WhatsApp alternatives for you Migration Recommended You choose it.

Today we are going to show you how to delete your WhatsApp account, as well as some requirements that I personally recommend before doing so.

Oh, and a kind word of warning, deleting the WhatsApp app from your iPhone or Android smartphone won’t delete your account. It is still active, only messages or calls cannot reach you. They will as soon as you reinstall the app. That doesn’t change the fact that your (and that of your contacts) data is still accessible to WhatsApp and Facebook.

Before deleting your WhatsApp account

You can skip these steps if you want, but I recommend that you don’t.

Download your WhatsApp data

First, I recommend that you click on WhatsApp, Settings, Account and request account information. This process can take a few business days as WhatsApp has to compile everything and provide your report.

After a few days you will receive a notification that your report is ready. Click on Download, save the “My Account Info.zip” file and take a look inside. That’s all WhatsApp claims for you. Inside you will find, among other things, an HTML file with your display picture, your phone number, your email address, your device activity, your status and all the phone numbers of your contacts.

There is also information about your carrier, device, registration date and status for your terms of use. The zip file also contains a JSON file that you can read, with much the same data as the HTML file.

Please note: Due to the GDPR, the data available in the EU may differ from the data provided in other regions.

Save your WhatsApp media and conversations

While you wait for your report to be generated, I highly recommend going through your conversations and saving any media (photo, video, voice message, etc.) that you may not have saved. This is for security purposes as the app you are migrating to may not have WhatsApp data import capabilities.

You can also take screenshots of conversations when you feel like something is worth holding onto visually. If you’re only interested in the plain text version of your conversation, you can press the three dots on Android (or your contact’s name in the conversation on iOS) and select Export Chat from the menu. Then it’s up to you whether or not you want to include media in that particular chat.

And you are done! Ready for the big step.

How to Delete WhatsApp Account on iPhone

Deleting your WhatsApp account on your iPhone (or iOS device) is a simple process. Complete the following steps when you are ready to pull the trigger.

Step 1: Start WhatsApp;
Step 2: At the right end of the lower button bar, tap Settings.
Step 3: Go to account;
Step 4: Click Delete My Account.
Step 5: Enter your phone number registered with WhatsApp.
Step 6: Tap the red Delete My Account button.

* The app may ask you to choose a reason for your decision to delete your WhatsApp account. Do that!

How To Delete WhatsApp Account On Android

If you’re using an Android device and want to delete your WhatsApp account, the process is pretty simple. Just follow the steps below.

Step 1: Start WhatsApp;
Step 2: Press the menu button (the three dots) in the top right.
Step 3: Select settings;
Step 4: Go to account;
Step 5: Tap Delete My Account.
Step 6: Enter your phone number registered with WhatsApp.
Step 7: Click Delete My Account.

* The app may ask you to choose a reason for your decision to delete your WhatsApp account. Do that!

What happens after you delete your WhatsApp account?

According to WhatsApp, deleting your account will trigger the following actions: Obviously, your account will be deleted. Your message history will be deleted. You will be removed from any groups that you previously joined. Your Google Drive and / or iCloud chat backups will also be deleted.

Note that it can take 90 days from the time you delete your account to complete. You can no longer access your account. Also, be aware that the messages you send are not deleted by the end of the receiving party.

WhatsApp can hold onto certain bits that are related to you. You can read about it by accessing this link.

More about security

If you’re passionate about your privacy and data security (which you should be too), don’t miss out on some great readings from our colleague Adam Lein. I recommend that you read this and stop being naive about some of these apps any longer. Also, check out what Adam thinks is a viable option as an alternative to all of these services.


Anton D. Nagy

Anton is the editor-in-chief of Pocketnow. As a publication manager, he would like to bring Pocketnow even closer to you. His vision is primarily focused and focused on the audience. Anton’s goal, which has been adopted by the entire team, is to turn Pocketnow into a reference media company.

Contact: [email protected]

Related Articles